Compute Institute
Ratings for the physical buildout of AI
The Register
Tracked · unrated

UK data center projects (delayed across nation)

This build is tracked, not rated. We hold a source for it and we are showing you exactly what that source says — but we have not verified these figures, and no Project Risk Score has been issued. Nothing on this page is a Compute Institute judgment.

What the source reports

Capacity
not reported
Capital cost
$130,000,000,000 USD
Jurisdiction
not reported
Lifecycle status
not reported

Reported by Tom’s Hardware on 7 July 2026. We have not verified these figures.

What is missing before we would rate it

  • A primary source (E1 regulatory record or E2 company disclosure). What we hold is reporting, not a filing.
  • A confirmed jurisdiction. Without it there is no Jurisdiction Competitiveness Index to score against.
  • A capacity figure we can attribute. Nothing here is sized.
  • A verified lifecycle status — planned, permitting, permitted, under construction.
  • A second independent source. One document is a report; two is corroboration.

A rating requires an E1–E2 primary spine and passes our verification step; the methodology sets out the full ladder.

Claims on file

  • project.capex_usd $130 billion
    E4