Compute Institute
Ratings for the physical buildout of AI
The Register
Tracked · unrated

Project Steel

This build is tracked, not rated. We hold a source for it and we are showing you exactly what that source says — but we have not verified these figures, and no Project Risk Score has been issued. Nothing on this page is a Compute Institute judgment.

What the source reports

Capacity
not reported
Capital cost
not reported
Jurisdiction
not reported
Lifecycle status
announced

Reported by Data Center Dynamics (DCD). We have not verified this record.

What is missing before we would rate it

  • A confirmed jurisdiction. Without it there is no Jurisdiction Competitiveness Index to score against.
  • A capacity figure we can attribute. Nothing here is sized.
  • A second independent source. One document is a report; two is corroboration.

A rating requires an E1–E2 primary spine and passes our verification step; the methodology sets out the full ladder.

Claims on file

  • milestone.expected_date 2029-12-31
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 2500 MW
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 2.5 GWdc
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 1.6 GWdc
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 2.5 GWdc
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 1800
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 2450
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 1600
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 1600 MW
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 2450
    E4
  • project.capex_usd $3.5 billion
    E4
  • project.status construction
    E4
  • project.status announced
    E2
  • project.status construction
    E4
  • project.status construction
    E4
  • project.status construction
    E4
  • project.status construction
    E4
  • project.status planned
    E4