Compute Institute
Ratings for the physical buildout of AI
The Register
Tracked · unrated

Piketon data center campus

This build is tracked, not rated. We hold a source for it and we are showing you exactly what that source says — but we have not verified these figures, and no Project Risk Score has been issued. Nothing on this page is a Compute Institute judgment.

What the source reports

Capacity
10,000 MW
Capital cost
not reported
Jurisdiction
not reported
Lifecycle status
planned

Reported by AEP Ohio (American Electric Power). We have not verified these figures.

What is missing before we would rate it

  • A confirmed jurisdiction. Without it there is no Jurisdiction Competitiveness Index to score against.
  • A second independent source. One document is a report; two is corroboration.

A rating requires an E1–E2 primary spine and passes our verification step; the methodology sets out the full ladder.

Claims on file

  • project.announced_date 2026-03-20
    E4
  • project.announced_date 2025-03-31
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 10 gigawatts
    E1
  • project.capacity_mw 10 GW data center
    E2
  • project.capacity_mw 9.2 GW
    E2
  • project.capacity_mw 800 megawatt
    E2
  • project.capacity_mw 10 GW
    E4
  • project.capacity_mw 8GW
    E4
  • project.capex_usd $33.3 billion
    E2
  • project.capex_usd $10 billion
    E2
  • project.capex_usd $500bn
    E4
  • project.status planned
    E1
  • project.status announced
    E2
  • project.status construction
    E4